Project 1

I´m starting a new project where I plan on connect every picture I chose to work with to a specific song. It´s like a story for each picture and a picture for each story. Visual music, I think this will be a fun way to do more with my photography. This particular one is a tribute to Avril Lavigne, where I will be using her lyrics to relate to my pictures.



When You´re Gone



"I always needed time on my own
I never thought I'd need you there when I cry
And the days feel like years when I'm alone
And the bed where you lie is made up on your side

When you walk away I count the steps that you take
Do you see how much I need you right now?

When you're gone
The pieces of my heart are missing you
When you're gone
The face I came to know is missing too

When you're gone
The words I need to hear to always get me through
The day and make it ok
I miss you"

This song is one of my favorites and has been for a very long time. The song has so much emotion in it, and I think that this picture expressed the same kind of lonlieness and abandonment that the lyrics make you feel when you hear the song. Empty swings have always given me a sort of eerie feeling, and also made me feel a sadness. For me it feels like a part of childhood that we all think is so exciting at one point in our lives, that we forget about as we go on with out lives after childhood. Swings are responsible for so much laughter, so many turned stomachs, and so many memories.



Nobody´s Home


"What's wrong, what's wrong now?
Too many, too many problems
Don't know where she belongs
Where she belongs

She wants to go home
But nobody's home
That's where she lies
Broken inside

With no place to go
No place to go
To dry her eyes
Broken inside

Open your eyes
And look outside
Find the reasons why

You've been rejected
And now you can't find
What you've left behind"

This picture screams autumn. All the things that were thriving during the summer months are now withering, dying, and these empty shells and shriveled blossoms are all that are left now. The green dissapears, but at the same time the color explodes. The leaves on the trees are at their visual peak, but there is nothing left of the flowers. They look empty, like the life that was in them has left, and left, like the song says "nobody's home". The flowers in this picture held seeds, which are now gone, and are now left resembling an empty house.



Alice



"I found myself in Wonderland
Got back on my feet, again
Is this real?
Is this pretend?
I'll take a stand until the end

I,I, I'll get by
I,I, I'll survive
When the world's crashing down
When I fall and hit the ground
I will turn myself around
Don't you try to stop me
I,I, I won't cry"

These lyrics were made for the motion picture Alice in Wonderland , but it is also sung by Avril Lavigne. This picture resembles a peephole into an imaginary world, full of light a color as apposed to the normal grey blur of everyday life. The routines and structure are replaced by color and freedom. This reminds me of the theme from Alice in Wonderland and the lyrics to this song. Alice slips through a hole in the ground and finds herself in Wonderland, but can't decide if she thinks it´s real or not. Almost like this picture, where you´re left wondering if it's real or just our fantasy of "the other side" where the grass is always greener.



How Does It Feel ?



I am small and the world is big
All around me is fast moving
Surrounded by so many things
But suddenly, suddenly

How does it feel, to be different from me?
Are we the same?
How does it feel, to be different from me?
Are we the same?
How does it feel?

This song compares two people, who are different, but still similar in certain ways. I related this to the picture in the way that there is a tree trunk, but it has life all around it and on it as well. This is showing that even though the plants are all different, they coexist and make something greater together. Even though they may be different, they're also all the same. I think it´s the same way with people. We like to look at how people are different, but tend to forget that after all is said and done, we´re all still people.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0